

Apologies for Absence:

Dave V Thomas (Championships Co-Ordinator, North Wales CC), Helen Bashford-Malkie (ProtoEV), John Coe (Blackpool and Fylde Land Rover Club), Martin Blackburn (Manx MSMA), Richard Murtha (Lancashire Automobile Club), Jenny Coxon (ASWMC), Roy Bell (ANEMMC), Kevin Page (WSSCC), Jon Cordery (BRMC), Barry Wilkinson (PDMC), Huw Gwyn-Jones (C&A), Helen and Martin Fox, Allan Dean-Lewis, Russ Henstock and Roger Hopkins (Knutsford DMC), David Rainsbury (MGCC (NW)), Michael Ashcroft (Aintree CC), Ann McCormack (Warrington DMC) and Jonathan Armishaw (AMRO).

Delegates also thanked committee for their work on behalf of all ANWCC clubs.

Present were:

Gareth Roberts and Steve Southall (Broughton and Bretton CC), David Gregory (Quinton MC/Knutsford DMC), Chris Winstanley (Longton DMC), James Webster (Buccaneer), Eric Cowcill (PaN), Sue and Terry Bateman (SuperKarting-UK), Jerry Lucas (Wallasey MC), Paul Goodman (MGCC (NW)) and John Buckley (Glossop DCC).

Officials present were:

Mark Wilkinson (Chairman/Stockport 061/Motor Sport (North West)/2300 Club), Jim Spencer (Treasurer/BRCA and Hagley), John Harden (Vice-Chairman and Liverpool MC), Katy Mashiter (Training and KLMC/Morecambe CC), Tracey Smith (Secretary/Accrington MSC) and Maurice Ellison (Press Officer/Clitheroe DMC).

Welcome

Mark Wilkinson welcomed delegates to the meeting. The minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting were accepted as a true record, proposed by Katy Mashiter and seconded by Maurice Ellison.

Matters Arising

None.

Chairman's Report

Mark Wilkinson thanked all competitors for supporting the Association this past year, clubs for hosting the events and the marshals for helping with them and added that without this support, we wouldn't be here tonight.

Mark Wilkinson stated that 130 guests attended the ANWCC Awards Presentation at Mere Court in Knutsford. Mark congratulated Association President, Allan Dean-Lewis, on receiving the FIA Lifetime Achievement Award. Mark stated he was pleased to present the Bob Milloy Trophy to Maurice Ellison for his efforts in producing Spotlight for the past 12 years and the ADL Scroll of Excellence to John Leck from BARC (NW) who has been a Centre Committee member for 42 years, Competition Secretary for 41 years, Sports Saloon Championship Co-ordinator for 40 years, Secretary of the Race Meeting for 31 years and website manager and newsletter contributor for many years. Mark also thanked Dave Thomas and Tracey Smith for organising the awards evening.

Mark hoped that the Association is continuing to meet everyone's needs.

Mark also thanked John Harden as Vice-Chairperson for being a good listener and sense-checker through the year and stated that John is willing to step down if anyone would like to join the executive, and is happy to remain in position whilst shadowing, Jim Spencer for his work as Treasurer and balancing the books so well, Maurice Ellison for producing the excellent Spotlight magazine each month, Katy Mashiter and her team for arranging training events throughout the year, Gordon Pirie for his route liaison work, Dave Thomas for running the championship for the past 42 years and Tracey Smith for managing the Secretariat role.

Treasurer's Report

Jim Spencer presented the Association accounts. 2023 Championship registrations monies were up by 10% and Bob Milloy left a generous bequest. Jim thanked all Officials for the effective management of the budget. The accounts were accepted as true records. Proposed by John Harden and seconded by Eric Cowcill.

Championship Report

Dave Thomas prepared a written report: 286 registered championship contenders in 2023. A full statistical report is available on our website. Road rallies were particularly strong in 2023, the best year in the past five for the number of championship contenders who competed. Similarly in the Speed Championship, both Sprints and Hillclimbs gaining support. Not one Autotest championship contender gained an award. Autosolos were strong, but PCAs had little support, same with Trials and Historic Rallies where there are opportunities for competitors to register as they are members of one of our clubs.

Dave reported another successful Awards Presentation evening with 123 guests taking away 109 awards. Dave thanked Tracey for organising the evening, Mark for comparing, and Knutsford for their help as Champion Club.

Dave Thomas thanked all clubs, event organisers, marshals and championship contenders for making 2023 a very successful year.

Appointment of Officials

The following officers were elected unopposed:

- Chairman Mark Wilkinson
- Vice-Chairman John Harden
- Championship Coordinator Dave Thomas
- Treasurer Jim Spencer
- Press Officer Maurice Ellison
- Training Officer Katy Mashiter
- Secretary Tracey Smith

Proposer – Steve Buckley, Seconder – David Gregory

Training Officer's Report

Katy Mashiter reported the successful delivery of several club training events in 2023. These sessions were very well received. Katy also stated that due to the high costs of hiring venues, training will continue to be based around club nights, with the opportunity for several clubs to join each session.

Motions

None received.

Any Other Business

None.

Meeting ended at 20:13 hours.

Date of next AGM Tuesday 11th February 2025 starting at 8 pm